If a previously existing message is automatically resent when joining a channel, only the preview is sent, not the entire message.
Using Desktop 2.59.0 on Ubuntu 24 and Arcane Chat 2.58.1 on Android 10 (tested both back and forth) for channel and subscriber profiles.
In detail: If a message is too long, “Show Full Message…” appears, see Figure 1.
Tapping on it opens the entire message, see Figure 2.
However, if the message has been resent, “Show Full Message…” is missing, see Image 3.
I even encountered a case where “Show Full Message…” was displayed, but the entire message still looked like the preview. However, I was unable to reproduce this specific case.
This test channel is currently still available via
Thanks for adding it over there, @WofWca . From my user perspective this stirred up a hornet’s nest on arbitrary limitations to be added, instead of safe-keeping the ability to handle classic e-mails.
There have been similar changes in the past, such as removing the option to have a separate folder when using Chatmail with a traditional email account. I deeply regret all of this, and I’m afraid no one cares. m2c
PS: The issue was not about long messages get converted (now marked as duplicate of #7718) but that auto-resent messages are send truncated, not original. Anyway, it is what it is. Again thanks for adding an issue from my user side of things to the developers I have a hard time to keep up with just language wise.
This system has alerted me that this message was flagged and can be edited 10 minutes, for maybe having it unflagged. I would have removed the external url for suspicious reason, but it actually can’t be edited. Now I hope my time as a user adding to the project is still worth wile.
PS: Well, it sais it’s restored by now. Without me understanding what was going on. Anyway.