How to recover gmail password from phone

Hi,
I need some expert advice, on how to recover my gmail password from DC on my phone. The phone is not connected to a Google account.

I have been using DC now for more than 3 years and lost all the credentials for the gmail address I was using for nothing else but DC. Now I don’t want to loose the conversations after switching to a new mobile phone.

Thanks in advance

Hello :wave:,
there are two options:

1. Transfer the account to DC-Desktop via backup or QR code. In this version it is possible to display the password.

2. Create a backup and open the SQLite database and search for the password there with a suitable tool like “DB Browser for SQLite” (https://sqlitebrowser.org).

Thank you for the quick answers! I’ll give it a try, and report back.

I chose method #2, did the back-up, got the file dc_database_backup.sqlite, which I opened in DB Browser.

I find strings like “configured_send_pw4/…, configured_mail_pw4/…, mail_pw4/…” followed by a code, that resembles a password, but it is meaningless to me.

Where is the PW stored? Where do I have to look for?

Method #1 would have been easiest. :wink:

Method #2:

• Open database with the “DB Browser for SQLite”

• Tab “Browse Data”

• Select Table “config”

The table has three columns: id, keyname and value.
You can find the password in row #3:

• id: 4

• keyname: mail_pw

• value: your password

Thanks a lot for the details, Raiden!

I found the string now with method #2 and reconfirmed it with method #1. I had already found the mail_pw string with Notepad++ before, but did not recognize it as a PW. As I usually use much shorter PWs, it looked unfamiliar to me.

Strange enough, the string I found is not accepted by Google when I try to login the account via the web interface.

How can I derive my account PW from that string?