Some doubts about the new default setting to view all emails, and some suggestions to perhaps improve the experience

I’ve been using DC for several years now with two different accounts that I generally import and export, and after an initial period where I tried the various options (all mails, accepted contacts, and chat only) I used it most of the time just for chats. Since the option to check only the DeltaChat folder was added I started using the app checking all mails but only the DC folder, this way I use it in a similar way to checking only accepted contacts using filters I set on the provider’s server (using DC on different devices this saves me the tedium of having to accept/block contacts on each device). I understand that this is a rather advanced configuration so not acceptable by default, however out of curiosity I wanted to try starting from scratch with a new pre-existing account and I am not sure if making the option to check all emails default was the best choice.

As I said, I’ve been using a configuration I’m very comfortable with for some time now, and trying out the various options for checking email took me a while to get the hang of it again.

The experience of setting up a new account on DC with a pre-existing account anyway has not been the best, I attempt to explain myself better, and if I have misunderstood anything about how the various options work please correct me:

when all mails are managed you will receive all mails on delta chat, but only the mails received from another DC user, will be moved to the DeltaChat folder (and that makes sense), the problem with it being set as the default option, in my opinion, is that if you log in with a pre-existing account that you want to use in either of the other two modes, however, it will load all pre-existing mails on the first log in and then you will have to delete a lot of chat, since even if you change the option the chats from previous mails will remain visible.