"View-once" feature

This type of feature that was implemented a few months ago by Signal has an important ephemerality value: it does not depend on the message exclusion timer locally.

There are specific use cases for this feature, for example:

  1. User “A” wants to send a sensitive photo to “B”, but instead of having the manual (and bureaucratic) work of going to the settings and setting a time for the local deletion of the message, he can choose to delete the message as soon as it is viewed from the “B” side.

Technically, it is more of an interface implementation, as the file data will be locally, but will no longer be visible in the chat. Therefore, it is a way to address sensitive content being exchanged in the chat.

view-once-animation