Why is sending and receiving read receipts combined?

Hi!
I don’t get why I shouldn’t see read receipts that other users decided to send anymore as soon as I disable sending read receipts from my device. I’m new to DC, but if I understood correctly, I can still see all of these receipts in a “normal” mailer. So it’s not even saving battery, just hiding information.
This looks like a “political” decision since there’s no necessity to combine these two technically independent settings. In fact, if we had two settings, one to allow / deny sending receipts, one to display / hide incoming receipts, I guess hardly anyone would disable the latter.

Hi @Hans welcome to the forum,
the read receipts you see are for old messages previous to your action of disabling read receipts, I would like that those are shown but seems that most people got confused “why I still see read receipts if I had disabled it? it didn’t work?” and I guess that is why it was implemented that way.
So for messages you send from the point you disabled read receipts you wouldI would like that those are shown but seems that most people got confused “why I still see read receipts if I had disabled it? it didn’t work?” and I guess that is why it was implemented that way.n’t receive read receipts for them, so it isn’t a waste,it actually is useful to make the app a bit faster, and have less traffic, avoid some servers rate limits (too many messages in short time)

Thank you for your answer! Looks like I didn’t get the fact that read receipts are actually not sent anymore from the moment you don’t request them.

But my main point was a different one and my suggestion is then: Please let’s have two separate settings. One for sending / not sending read receipts for messages you receive and one for receiving / not receiving read receipts for messages you send. It’s two different things that deserve two different options. The first one is mainly privacy-related, the second one traffic-related.