Are there any Webxdc runtime which works directly in browser?

What I want is a web-extensions, bookmarklet or some light-weight solution,
which allow user to open a webxdc in browser easily.

Though we can unzip it and open it in browser with file: protocol,
the localstorage will get lost if the file path change,
and window.webxdc.* api will not work.

I am new to webxdc and delta chat,
but I think the webxdc’s concept should not be limited in delta chat.
Delta chat is not a large desktop app,
but install delta chat only to run a webxdc is a little overwork.

I developed some web apps which work fine offline,
but I can only publish them online.
Publish a zip file is not very intuitive for end users.
(and with some limitations on local storage api.)

It would be great if end users can easily open a xdc file in browser,
though it might not be able to block any http request in a normal browser like delta chat.

I know there is a run command in webxdc-dev npm package,
but it is not very convient for end user; it is made for developer.

1 Like

Nice idea, I’ve been thinking about this as well, except also with WebRTC communication support. I think the webxdc core is pretty simple to implement, especially for just one user. Its JS implementation could be taken from webxdc-dev.

For the actual runtime part, I believe it should be achievable or near-achievable with extensions. You gotta unzip the file with something like jszip, then you can read the files and insert the contents into an iframe. There are code playground extensions like Webmaker, we can look up how they work, although I’m not sure if they’re suitable for running untrusted fiddles.

FYI there is also another messenger called Cheogram and Monocles that implemented webxdc recently.

I have experience with extensions and a bit with WebRTC, so I’ll be happy to help with the efforts, or maybe implement this myself one day.

I have an experimental implementation with PWA (prograssive web app) and service worker.