Hi, I’m new to Delta.Chat. I like it very much, but I am not a technical person, and I am having a horrible time trying to figure it out, why it behaves the way it does, etc. I tried looking for some documentation, but could find only the FAQ, which doesn’t address my confusion.
I realize that the expectation is that a person include only one question or issue per posting, but I suspect that the answers to my questions are kind of intertwined. So, I’m just gonna list them here.
I am running Delta.Chat on 3 android devices and on one Ubuntu desktop computer.
In Delta.Chat, I see some configuration options, but I don’t understand what they are meant to do. Could someone please explain each of these to me?
“Watch Inbox Folder” (Watching for what? Do I want someone to watch that? It worries me that there is an option for someone to be watching what I am doing with Delta.Chat.)
“Watch Sent Folder”
“Watch DeltaChat Folder”
Another option is “Automatic moves to Delta.Chat”. What is being moved, and from where? Why would I want – or not want – that?
There is an option called “Contact Requests”. What is that? When I select that, all I get is an empty Delta.Chat screen, even though I have set up some contacts. Who is supposed to be making what kind of requests involving which contacts?
I am not able to figure out the distinctions among all the options under “Show Classic Emails”. How will each one make Delta.Chat behave?
Which combination of settings should I select in order to accomplish all four of the following:
All emails that I initiate in Delta.Chat, and the related replies, should appear in both my normal email inbox AND in Delta.Chat All other non-Delta.Chat emails that I send or receive should appear in my normal email inbox only. All the emails (and related replies) that I see in Delta.Chat should be the same across all four of the devices I am using. When I choose to delete an email on one of the devices, and I choose the deletion option to delete it both in Delta.Chat on that device AND on the server, the other devices should also reflect it as having been deleted.
Why is it that sometimes when I delete a message from both the device and the server, it will not be deleted on the server?
Why is it that sometimes the message I sent from within Delta.Chat that appears in my normal inbox for my email account (subject of Chat:……) stays there, but sometimes it gets moved to the DeltaChat folder?
When I send a message from within Delta.Chat on a device, sometimes it appears twice on that device within Delta.Chat. I can’t figure out why; Why is that?
If I manually delete a message on the server in the DeltaChat folder, should it eventually also disappear from the devices? (They don’t seem to.)
I am sorry for so many questions, but as you can see, I am very confused about how Delta.Chat is supposed to work.
If there is documentation out there that addresses my questions, please tell me, I could not find it, I would have happily have read that first before posting these questions.